Gundam Australia Forum Sponsored By Hobby Link Japan - Go there NOW
August 24, 2019, 07:03:59 AM *
Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Ordering something from HLJ? Access the site through our banner! :)

Follow Us On -
Fury's Schemer App
SAZABI VER KA!!!!
HLJ.com Ad
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Need some help with a banner  (Read 4228 times)

Sonar

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6436
  • G A N D A A A M U ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • Gundam Australia
Need some help with a banner
« on: September 25, 2010, 10:04:26 PM »

Web experts please come to my aid. I need help installing a header banner on the forum, and the methods I'm trying are failing. Anyone with experience in banners that can help me I'd be massively appreciative. :)

TheGhostofZeon

  • GAF Commodore
  • Rear Admiral
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1546
    • View Profile
    • The Ghost of Zeon
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2010, 08:58:30 AM »

What is the problem you are having?

Sonar

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6436
  • G A N D A A A M U ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • Gundam Australia
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2010, 09:50:06 AM »

I have a 468 x 60 horizontal banner which has been emailed to me embedded in the body of the email. I don't think they have provided me with HTML code for it to be hosted on their server, and the advertising plug in I have installed is simply entering the HTML code for off site advertising into the relevant field. Something like adsense would provide.

I've tried stripping the email back and looking at the coding for the banner image and it doesn't look like an off site deal to me.

This is what I've located:

Code: [Select]
<p class=3DMsoNormal><img border=3D0 width=3D468 height=3D60
id=3Df1f33024-d98e-4fc3-ab16-7a8d491e0f2a
src=3D"cid:B2E8577A-1CEF-4A94-90AF-BB9D1DDDD929@*advertisers*domain"><o:p></o:p></p=
>


What I think I need to do is build the HTML code for the banner in a HTML editor (I use dreamweaver) using the jpeg I have extracted from the email, and the necessary link, then ftp that to the images directory, then write the HTML code into the ad plug in. The other option is to hard code the banner into the forum index template. I think I might be on the right track in terms of what I need to do, it's the how that I'm stuck with. Being a total HTML/web stuff newb and all.

An example of the HTML code for a banner would go a long way too. ;)

Code: [Select]
<img= " ?? border= 0, width = 468, height= 80, <a href= " http://www.link to advertisers site >
http://www.gundamaustralia.com/forum/image directory/relevant banner>
</a></img>

Am I headed in the right direction?

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated. ;D
« Last Edit: September 26, 2010, 09:59:48 AM by Sonar »
Logged

TheGhostofZeon

  • GAF Commodore
  • Rear Admiral
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1546
    • View Profile
    • The Ghost of Zeon
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2010, 11:56:55 AM »

OK, what I understand is that you want to have an image on the site with a link back to the appropriate site that the image is advertising.

The simplest way to do this is to upload the image to the site and use some html to insert the image and link it.

Try this first :

<img src="<location of image>" alt="<name of advertiser>" width="<width of image in px>" height="<height of image in px>" usemap="#map" />

then follow it with this (doesn't matter where it is in the code - sometime I put these at the bottom of a page to group them together but it needs to be within the <body></body> tags) :

<map name="map" id="">
<area shape="rect" coords="0,0,<width if image in px>,<height of image in px>" href="<page you are linking to here>" alt="" />
</map>


This will insert the image into the site and use an image map to create a hyperlink rather than linking the image itself. If you link the image just as you would a text link, then the same CSS will apply to it (eg. if the link is blue underlined with text links, then the image will have a blue underline as well. Using an image map will allow the link to be in place without being tied to any CSS. If you go to my site and hover over pictures, you will notice the pointer changes to a link pointer but the image isn't underlined but if you do the same with text links, then the text underline will change.

There is probably another way to do it, but I am unfamiliar with what you have used to build the site and forum. Hope this helps.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2010, 11:57:41 AM by TheGhostofZeon »
Logged

Sonar

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6436
  • G A N D A A A M U ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • Gundam Australia
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2010, 02:42:34 PM »

Ok I've tried running that code through the ad interface, but to no avail. The banner is to run on every page of the forum, and the other option is to hard code it into the forum template. I have to figure out where to put it now... Everyone cross your fingers and hope that I don't blow the forum up!

Vamp

  • Lieutenant Commander
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2010, 05:29:24 PM »

Fingers crossed.....XD
Logged

Sonar

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6436
  • G A N D A A A M U ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • Gundam Australia
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2010, 06:38:41 PM »

2 minor explosions but I fixed it pretty quickly. I've almost got it, but the forum code doesn't gel with the HTML above properly. Still trying to figure it out..

Sonar

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6436
  • G A N D A A A M U ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • Gundam Australia
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2010, 01:43:11 PM »

Ok so I have a test version running now after many numerous hours of trial and error and a few moments of sheer panic with the forum index template.

I can't get the link to work no matter what variations of code I try to insert, and I'm struggling to figure out how to get the background to stay blue.

That's not the position that I wanted to put it and it doesn't really look good at all so I will either have to get a different sized one made or figure out how to insert it where I want it.

It's doing my head in. I am learning quite a bit though...

Sonar

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6436
  • G A N D A A A M U ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • Gundam Australia
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2010, 01:52:07 PM »

Ok I've found a plugin that works without having to recode the template php.

Scott, would you mind taking a look at this html and letting me know if anything's missing?

Code: [Select]
<center><a href="http://hlj.com/top/Gun" target=_blank">
<img src="http://www.gundamaustralia.com/forum/images/image001.jpg" alt="Hobbylink Japan"
 border="0" ></a></center>

Nb: This code is written on one line but I have changed the appearance here for page display's sake.

Can you guys please test the banner for me?

Does it display properly in your theme/browser?
Does clicking it open a new window and take you to the right location?
Is it centered in your browser?

Cheers guys!

zahmad

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2010, 02:28:06 PM »

Centered and correctly linking here, using the AS theme...
Logged

Sonar

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6436
  • G A N D A A A M U ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • Gundam Australia
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2010, 02:28:42 PM »

Thanks mate!

Sonar

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6436
  • G A N D A A A M U ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • Gundam Australia
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2010, 03:39:42 PM »

Ok I've now moved that banner to the bottom and inserted a banner in the header bar next to the logo banner. I haven't worked out how to display this in the 'As' theme just yet so anyone using that theme will not be able to see it.

If any problems arise during your browsing and posting please let me know.

zahmad

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2010, 05:49:54 PM »

One ad is enough lol, but the positioning of the one below rather than next to forum banner seemed more fitting.
Logged

TheGhostofZeon

  • GAF Commodore
  • Rear Admiral
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1546
    • View Profile
    • The Ghost of Zeon
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2010, 07:33:48 PM »

Ok I've found a plugin that works without having to recode the template php.

Scott, would you mind taking a look at this html and letting me know if anything's missing?

Code: [Select]
<center><a href="http://hlj.com/top/Gun" target=_blank">
<img src="http://www.gundamaustralia.com/forum/images/image001.jpg" alt="Hobbylink Japan"
 border="0" ></a></center>

Nb: This code is written on one line but I have changed the appearance here for page display's sake.

Can you guys please test the banner for me?

Does it display properly in your theme/browser?
Does clicking it open a new window and take you to the right location?
Is it centered in your browser?

Cheers guys!

Looks OK to me but you might want to have a background image or color to hide the white block next to it.

Sonar

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6436
  • G A N D A A A M U ! ! !
    • View Profile
    • Gundam Australia
Re: Need some help with a banner
« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2010, 09:08:33 PM »

Yeah that's an issue with the php code I still have to sort out. Thanks for your help!

Zahmad it was soo difficult to get that banner in the header bar, but I kinda like it and agree at the same time.
Pages: [1] 2
 



japantoys.com.au banner ad

HLJ.com Ad

Advertise on GAF